Lord Melbury
Sir Francis Drake
6 posters
AuthorMessage
Sir Francis Drake

Sir Francis Drake

Plane Spotting Empty
PostSubject: Plane Spotting   Plane Spotting EmptyWed Apr 01, 2015 12:02 pm

Lots of, well 3, interesting old aircraft flying over the South Hams this morning. I'm no expert but it looked like a pair of WW2 bombers, I saw them a bit before 11 am, and a single double turboprop job shortly after 11 all flying roughly north->south. I'm guessing a pair of Lancasters and a Vulcan but those really are guesses...

Did anybody else see them or does anybody know what is going on?
Back to top Go down
http://sicparvismagna.com

Plane Spotting Empty
PostSubject: Re: Plane Spotting   Plane Spotting EmptyWed Apr 01, 2015 12:12 pm

Perhaps on their way to an air show this weekend?
Back to top Go down

Plane Spotting Empty
PostSubject: Re: Plane Spotting   Plane Spotting EmptyWed Apr 01, 2015 12:24 pm

Ruski surveillance mission?
Back to top Go down

Plane Spotting Empty
PostSubject: Re: Plane Spotting   Plane Spotting EmptyWed Apr 01, 2015 2:26 pm

Orkwood T Watt wrote:
Perhaps on their way to an air show this weekend?

partly yes another could be maintenance flight to get ready for one coming soon.
Back to top Go down
Lord Melbury

Plane Spotting Empty
PostSubject: Re: Plane Spotting   Plane Spotting EmptyWed Apr 01, 2015 3:02 pm

As far as I know there are only two Lancasters in an airworthy state. One of those is based in Canada & the other is part of the Battle of Britain memorial flight & usually flies in the company of a Spitfire & a Hurricane.
As for the Vulcan, that is a jet bomber & the noise they emit is deafening, also not sure but I doubt it could fly slow enough to allow a WW2 turbo prop aircraft to keep up with it.
Whereabouts in the South Hams did you see them SFD ? I was in Bantham at that time & didn't hear anything
Back to top Go down
Tgwu

Plane Spotting Empty
PostSubject: Re: Plane Spotting   Plane Spotting EmptyWed Apr 01, 2015 3:08 pm