Argyle Talk Democratic

The ONLY Independent Internet Forum for Argyle Fans
 
HomeHome  RegisterRegister  Log inLog in  

Share | 
 

 This week review by Martyn Starnes

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
Tgwu

avatar

Posts : 9292
Join date : 2011-12-11
Age : 68
Location : plymouth

PostSubject: This week review by Martyn Starnes   Wed Oct 11, 2017 5:06 pm

It was great to see Oscar Threlkeld back in the team on Saturday, but it was bitterly disappointing to see him break down with injury once again after sustaining some questionably robust challenges from our opponents.

Fleetwood seemed more than happy to concede a foul to prevent a threat to their defensive lines with the referee awarding 21 free kicks and four cautions against the visitors. It could have been more.

It’s an unfortunate and ugly side to the game and it made it extremely difficult for us to build attacking momentum.

Going in level at half time, there was very little to choose between the two sides but a defensive error early in the second half was ruthlessly punished once again and we found ourselves a goal behind against the run of play.

A second goal was conceded in the closing minutes as we chased an equaliser but there was still time for first year professional Alex Fletcher to pull a goal back with a deft glancing header after coming on as a substitute.

Against Bristol Rovers the previous Saturday, we came back strongly in the second half after going a goal behind before the break and Nathan Blissett scored a fine equaliser whilst we were in the ascendancy.

At that point, I felt we could go on and win the game, but ten minutes after drawing level, we’ve failed to defend a counter attack effectively and our hosts retook the lead.

Within two minutes, Gary Miller had been shown a red card and it was then a struggle to contain the Rovers attack. That said, Antoni Sarcevic had a great opportunity to grab a dramatic equaliser in the closing seconds but pulled his shot wide.

Of course, between the two league games we had the Checkatrade Trophy match against Exeter City. Whilst the competition is not to everyone’s liking it was nonetheless good to beat the Grecians albeit on penalties.

There is now one remaining fixture at the group stage, away to Yeovil next month. A win at Huish Park will guarantee progression to the knockout stage.

Derek Adams and his coaching staff continue to work hard with the players to turn around our disappointing run of league results and he is also looking to add to the squad where there is an opportunity to do so.

Obviously, the rules around the transfer windows and the absence of the emergency loan system make this extremely difficult.

Only players that were out of contract at 31 August this year are eligible to sign and play. We are therefore delighted to have been able to secure the services of Toumani Diagouraga who was released by Leeds in the summer.

Toumani has a wealth of experience, particularly in League One with Brentford, and we hope he will use this to his and the club’s advantage over the next few weeks.

He has already played for Argyle in a competitive fixture this week, making his debut in a 5-4 win against MK Dons in our first Central League game.

We have entered the competition this season to provide more games for the players that are not featuring regularly in the first team and to enable our young development players to gain more pitch time playing with and against experienced professionals.

On Saturday we meet League One leaders Shrewsbury Town. Even their manager is surprised at how well they have started the season.

Clearly, their early wins against Northampton, AFC Wimbledon and Rochdale provided them with some confidence on which they’ve capitalised. However, all of their nine wins have been by the odd goal apart from their 2-0 defeat of Scunthorpe.

They clearly haven’t been dominant in their matches and it could prove an important turning point in our season if we can end the Shrew’s unbeaten record at the weekend.

Despite the setbacks the support for the team has been fantastic this season. It’s been greatly appreciated by everyone at the club. Please continue to get behind the lads on Saturday. It could make all the difference!
Back to top Go down
Angry

avatar

Posts : 10187
Join date : 2013-08-16

PostSubject: Re: This week review by Martyn Starnes   Wed Oct 11, 2017 5:13 pm

another yahoo with his head buried in the sand.
Back to top Go down
akagreengull

avatar

Posts : 2617
Join date : 2012-01-12
Age : 61
Location : Mutant Abbot

PostSubject: Re: This week review by Martyn Starnes   Wed Oct 11, 2017 6:14 pm

Onwards and upwards eh Martyn? cheers
Back to top Go down
PatDunne



Posts : 1353
Join date : 2013-11-21
Age : 56

PostSubject: Re: This week review by Martyn Starnes   Wed Oct 11, 2017 6:33 pm

The veiled suggestion that it's the fans fault for not 'getting behind the lads' is never far away where Starnes is concerned. The geriatric nodding clapping Green Army is the most docile going, talking of which, is Graiser ok?
Back to top Go down
akagreengull

avatar

Posts : 2617
Join date : 2012-01-12
Age : 61
Location : Mutant Abbot

PostSubject: Re: This week review by Martyn Starnes   Wed Oct 11, 2017 6:37 pm

It's going to take more than the rousing support of the twelth man greeeeeeeen armeeeeeee to beat the mighty Shrews. geek
Back to top Go down
Earwegoagain



Posts : 755
Join date : 2017-09-09

PostSubject: Re: This week review by Martyn Starnes   Wed Oct 11, 2017 6:59 pm

PatDunne wrote:
The veiled suggestion that it's the fans fault for not 'getting behind the lads' is never far away where Starnes is concerned. The geriatric nodding clapping Green Army is the most docile going, talking of which, is Graiser ok?

MIA along with Tiger and Zippy. Suspect
Back to top Go down
beesrus



Posts : 1253
Join date : 2016-11-23

PostSubject: Re: This week review by Martyn Starnes   Wed Oct 11, 2017 7:10 pm

PatDunne wrote:
The veiled suggestion that it's the fans fault for not 'getting behind the lads' is never far away where Starnes is concerned. The geriatric nodding clapping Green Army is the most docile going, talking of which, is Graiser ok?

I think Starnes must talk to Cowdery a lot. Similar downer.
Sadly, fan bashing has become de rigeur for most Argyle establishment these days, including the chair. It won't end well.
Back to top Go down
Angry

avatar

Posts : 10187
Join date : 2013-08-16

PostSubject: Re: This week review by Martyn Starnes   Wed Oct 11, 2017 7:44 pm

I found listening to this reading anything by the board especially brent or starnes helps sum them up better.



Back to top Go down
akagreengull

avatar

Posts : 2617
Join date : 2012-01-12
Age : 61
Location : Mutant Abbot

PostSubject: Re: This week review by Martyn Starnes   Wed Oct 11, 2017 8:13 pm

laugh Nothing like some good sardonic humour in times of difficulty Angry.
Back to top Go down
Hugh Watt
Admin


Posts : 4035
Join date : 2012-01-08
Location : Over there....

PostSubject: Re: This week review by Martyn Starnes   Wed Oct 11, 2017 10:22 pm

The green army are actually quite vocal, until they realise around the 30 minute mark that all the shouting in the world isn’t going to conjure up a goal from the demotivated dross in green

_______________________________________
Don't forget to follow us on Twitter @TheOfficial_ATD
Back to top Go down
tigertony

avatar

Posts : 1981
Join date : 2012-01-05

PostSubject: Re: This week review by Martyn Starnes   Wed Oct 11, 2017 11:43 pm

Earwegoagain wrote:
PatDunne wrote:
The veiled suggestion that it's the fans fault for not 'getting behind the lads' is never far away where Starnes is concerned. The geriatric nodding clapping Green Army is the most docile going, talking of which, is Graiser ok?

MIA along with Tiger and Zippy. Suspect
Don't fret - I'm still here. Been a bit busy. I'm still supremely confident that our players will get us out of trouble ..... no, really I am. I'm having a few snags finding a bookie who will accept a bet on us ending the season with 107 points and that Starnes will get knighted in the 2018 Birthday Honours List. All the bookies want to do is get me locked up! Toumes to the rescue.
I'm just pleased that we were pipped to the post by Caerau in signing a certain player.
[You must be registered and logged in to see this link.]






Back to top Go down
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: This week review by Martyn Starnes   

Back to top Go down
 
This week review by Martyn Starnes
View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 1
 Similar topics
-
» Tacoma area - Colostrum and first week of milk for newborn
» Seeking 10oz/day for 6 week old Jameson (will travel)
» Donor milk desired for 3 week old
» Could Madeleine's Review by SY be pulled??
» Adopted newborn coming home in about a week

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Argyle Talk Democratic  :: Home Park :: The Mayflower-
Jump to: